Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

9 States Charging Electric Vehicle Owners the Highest Fees

Man charging an electric vehicle in a parking lot at sunset
Standret / Shutterstock.com

Some consumers are getting caught up in an ongoing debate over electric vehicles — and it’s making ownership more expensive.

While safety experts are worried about whether EVs are too heavy and the Biden administration is spending millions to build out a national charging network, a number of state governments are fretting over lost revenue.

Historically, drivers have been taxed heavily on gasoline purchases by both federal and state governments. It averages out to about 51 cents per gallon and is intended to fund roads and similar infrastructure, but many states use gas tax funds to fill in other budget gaps — from law enforcement to education and even tourism.

Electric vehicle owners, of course, don’t need to buy very much gasoline. So as more people make the switch, states lose more of the revenue they’ve come to rely upon. Some have introduced a quick fix: hefty additional registration fees for owners of electric or hybrid vehicles.

Following is a look at the states charging the highest additional fees to owners of all-electric vehicles, either folded into standard registration fees or added separately — but in each state adding at least $200 in fees that gas vehicle owners avoid.

Alabama

Mobile, Alabama
Stephanie A. Sellers / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $200

In March 2019, Alabama passed the Rebuild Alabama Act, which levies “an annual license tax and registration fee of $200.00 on each battery electric vehicle operated on the public highways of this state.” That’s in addition to the standard fees. For plug-in hybrids, the added fee is only $100.

Arkansas

Siloam Springs, Arkansas
RaksyBH / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $200

Arkansas charges annual registration fees for all vehicles according to weight. The fee on alternative fuel vehicles — $200 for electric, $100 for plug-in hybrid and $50 for other hybrids — is a flat add-on, without weight considerations. But since even the lightest electric vehicles weigh over 3,000 pounds, these drivers end up paying higher standard fees too.

Georgia

electric vehicles charging in Georgia
Vincent Doyle / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $210.87

If Georgia’s EV fee seems like an oddly specific number, that’s because it automatically changes each year. Says the Georgia Department of Revenue:

“Under Georgia law, certain Alternative Fuel Vehicles are subject to annual licensing fees. These fees must be adjusted each year according to a statutory formula based on the percentage increase or decrease in average motor vehicle fuel efficiency as measured by the United States Department of Energy.”

Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles are exempt from the added fees unless they choose to use an “alternative fuel vehicle license plate.”

Michigan

Saginaw, Michigan
ehrlif / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $140 or $240 depending on weight

Michigan bases its EV fees on gas taxes, and they vary based on weight. As set in 2022, this means all-electric vehicles that weigh 8,000 pounds or more (some pickups and SUVs) face an extra fee of $240 while lighter vehicles are charged $140. Plug-in hybrids pay a lesser fee of either $50 or $120.

Ohio

Cincinnati, Ohio
Alina Zamogilnykh / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $200

Plug-in all-electric vehicle owners in the Buckeye State are charged an additional fee of $200 while hybrid vehicle owners pay an additional $100.

Texas

Dallas Texas
Roschetzky Photography / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $200

In 2023, Texas passed SB 505, a law that singles out new electric vehicles for a stiff $400 initial registration fee on top of the usual ones. Every year after that, the additional fee is $200.

“This aims to solve a growing problem where only petroleum powered vehicles are paying into the transportation fund while all vehicles benefit from this funding,” according to statement of intent from the bill’s sponsor, Sen. Robert Nichols.

Washington

Yakima, Washington
Heidi Ihnen Photography / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $225

Washington state charges two additional fees to EV owners which, taken together, add $225 to the annual bill. There’s a $150 “electric car fee” plus a $75 “transportation electrification” fee. Electric motorcycles are charged a $30 fee instead of the $150 one.

West Virginia

Charleston, West Virginia
Sean Pavone / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $200

All-electric vehicles in West Virginia are charged an annual fee of $200 while hybrids are charged $100. That’s on top of the normal tag renewal rates, which range from about $52 to $77 depending on the selected style.

Wyoming

Sheridan, Wyoming
Sandra Foyt / Shutterstock.com

Additional annual fees charged to electric vehicle owners: $200

Drivers of plug-in electric vehicles registered in Wyoming pay an extra $200 road maintenance fee each year. A bill that failed in early 2023 would have increased the fee to $350 and added a $175 fee for plug-in hybrids.

Get smarter with your money!

Want the best money-news and tips to help you make more and spend less? Then sign up for the free Money Talks Newsletter to receive daily updates of personal finance news and advice, delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up for our free newsletter today.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More